Brendan Galvin

Brendan Galvin is the author of sixteen poetry collections, most recently Habitat: New and Selected Poems, 1965–2005 (2005), a finalist for the National Book Award; Ocean Effects (2007); and Whirl Is King (2008)—all from Louisiana State University Press. His translation of Sophocles’ Women of Trachis appeared in the Penn Greek Drama Series (University of Pennsylvania Press, 1998).

Georgia Review Archive for Brendan Galvin

Letter Accompanying the Specimen of an Amazing Bird

The Contemporary Poet and the Natural World

The Stones of Callanish & Norwegians at the Shetland Hotel

A Constant, A Mystery & A Warning to the Comet Hyakutake about the Olafsen Brothers

Brother Francisco Anthony Eats an Apple

The Black Humvee and the Blue Tangs & Ghost Gear

Two Birds in the Evening


When that oriole whistled from the orchard

it seemed frankly to be asking, You got

a problem with that? Its orange and black

was brash as a high-school letter… read more