search Search cart facebook2 Facebook instagram twitter rss2 search

The Georgia Review Spring 1995

Table of Contents

Special Feature

A Paradise of One’s Own: Odysseas Elytis

by Sam Hamill

A Reader’s Guide to García Márquez’s “Macondiad”

by Gregory Rabassa

Brodsky and the Grounding of Poetry

by Wlad Godzich

Camilo José Cela: The Rejection of the Ordinary

by Manuel Mantero & Carmen Tesser

Czesław Miłosz: The Laureate of Exiles

by Leonard Nathan

Derek Walcott: Either Nobody—or a Nation

by Edward Hirsch

Divination by Ashes: An Introduction to Claude Simon

by Richard Howard

Eulogy to the Fable Nobel Lecture, 8 December 1989

by Camilo José Cela

Halldór Laxness and the Sagas of Modern Iceland

by Hallberg Hallmundsson

In Search of the Present Nobel Lecture, 8 December 1990

by Octavio Paz

Japan, the Ambiguous, and Myself Nobel Lecture, 7 December 1994

by Kenzaburo Ōe

Kenzaburo Ōe: An Imaginative Anarchist with a Heart

by Michiko Niikuni Wilson

Lasting Laurels, Enduring Words

by Stanley W. Lindberg

Naguib Mahfouz: Life in the Alley of Arab History

by Matti Moosa

Nobel Acceptance Lecture, 1955

by Halldór Laxness

Nobel Lecture, 12 December 1976

by Saul Bellow

Nobel Lecture, 1970

by Aleksandr Solzhenitsyn

Nobel Lecture, 7 December 1993

by Toni Morrison

Nobel Lecture, 8 December 1979

by Odysseas Elytis

Nobel Lecture, 8 December 1980 & One More Contradiction

by Czeslaw Milosz

Nobel Lecture, 8 December 1986

by Wole Soyinka

Nobel Lecture, 8 December 1987

by Joseph Brodsky

Nobel Lecture, 9 December 1985

by Claude Simon

Octavio Paz: Otherness and the Search for the Present

by Enrico Mario Santí

Saul Bellow: “What, in all of this, speaks for man?”

by Sanford Pinsker

The Antilles: Fragments of Epic Memory Nobel Lecture, 7 December 1992

by Derek Walcott

The Literary Legacy of Alfred Nobel

by Ingmar Björkstén

The Solitude of Latin America Nobel Lecture, 8 December 1982

by Gabriel García Márquez

The Worlds That Toni Morrison Made

by Trudier Harris

Wole Soyinka: Mythopoesis and the Agon of Democracy

by Henry Louis Gates Jr.

Writing and Being Nobel Lecture, 7 December 1991

by Nadine Gordimer


Spring 1995